• SPECIAL EDUCATION

    Meet the Special Education Staff at Columbus 
     

    Melinda Antonson- Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) & Developmental Cognitive Disability (DCD)                                       

    mantonson@flaschools.org

    651-982-8909

     

    Stephanie  Mihm- Learning Disabilities (LD) & Emotional Behavioral Disability (EBD)

    smihm@flaschools.org

    651-982-8935 

     

    Shelly Stemmann- Emotional Behavioral Disorder (EBD)                                            

    sstemmann@flaschools.org

    651-982-8912
     
    Lisa Landherr-  Emotional Behavior Disorder (EBD)/ Specific Learning Disability (SLD)
    651-982-8934
     

    Jessica Paschke- School Psychologist

    jpaschke@flaschools.org

    651-982-8920
     

    Sheree Koehler - EducationalSpeech/Language Pathologist (SLI)

    skoehler@flaschools.org

    651-982-8906
     

    Kate Mitchell- Occupational Therapy (OT)                                    Para-Professional Support Staff:

    kmitchell@flaschools.org                                                                 Tina Bruner
    651-982-8939                                                                                     Mona McCarthy
                                                                                                                  Katie Longfellow

    David North- Adapted Physical Education (DAPE)                      Nicole LeMay

    dnorth@flaschools.org                                                                      Michelle Johnston
                                                                                                                  Annette Schwab
                                                                                                                  Jen Ritchie
                                                                                                                 
     
     
    What is Special Education?

    Special Education is specifically designed instruction to meet the unique needs of students with disabilities from birth to age 21.  These services are based on federal and state guidelines.  Students who are eligible for service(s), work with dedicated special education staff individually,  as needed in either their mainstream classroom or with pull-out to a smaller setting.  

    Areas of service under the Special Education Categories :
    • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)

    • Deaf/Hard of Hearing (DHH)

    • Developmental Cognitive Disability (DCD)

    • Developmental Disability (DD)

    • Emotional/Behavioral Disability (EBD)

    • Other Health Disability (OHD)

    • Specific Learning Disability (SLD)

    • Speech/Language Impairment (SLI)

    • Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

     

    Related Services Include:

    • Adaptive Physical Education (DAPE)

    • District Nurse

    • Occupational Therapy (OT)

    • Physical Therapy (PT)

     
    If you are concerned about your child’s progress in school, please discuss your concerns with your child’s classroom teacher or the school psychologist Nicole Kovar at 651-982-8949 nkovar@flaschools.org